Bypolls: Lotus flourishes in four seats, Congress faces another setback


The BJP’s indirect victory in four of the six seats it contested invigorated the party ahead of assembly polls in Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh. He gave tough competition to former ally Nitish Kumar’s Grand Alliance in Bihar and ended BJD’s winning run in Odisha. The Congress blanked the seven Assembly constituencies – Adampur, Gola Gokarannath, Dhamnagar, Andheri (East), Mokama, Gopalganj and Munugode – in six states of Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra, from Bihar, Odisha and Telangana who went to polls on November 3. The results were announced on Sunday. While the TRS managed to gain a foothold by winning the high-stakes indirect vote in the Munugode Assembly constituency, it had to overcome a fiery challenge from the BJP.

The by-vote took on immense political significance as it was seen as a virtual semi-final ahead of next year’s Legislative Assembly elections in Telangana.

The TRS, recently rebranded as Bharat Rashtra Samiti (BRS), saw it as a matter of prestige as a loss would have hurt their plans to go national.

In Maharashtra, Shiv Sena (Uddhav Balasaheb Thackeray) candidate Rutuja Latke won the Andheri (East) by-election in Mumbai, the seat previously held by her late husband, after major parties including the BJP, did not present any candidates. . The second highest number of votes (14.79%) went to the None Of The Above (NOTA) option in the constituency.

The BJP said the November 3 by-election result was a sign of popular approval of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s policies as he retained Gola Gokarannath in Uttar Pradesh, Dhamnagar in Odisha and Gopalganj in Bihar where he had lined up his party’s parents. MPs whose deaths necessitated the holding of elections.

In Haryana, BJP candidate and grandson of former Chief Minister Bhajan Lal Bhavya Bishnoi beat his closest rival and Congress candidate Jai Prakash in Adampur, Haryana by a margin of 16,000 votes, maintaining the family’s winning streak.

The AAP and INLD candidates lost their deposits as they failed to secure a sixth of the polled votes.

The resignation of Bhavya’s father, Kuldeep Bishnoi, necessitated the by-election after he quit Congress and joined the BJP.

The seat of Adampur has been held by the family of Bhajan Lal since 1968, with the late ruler representing her nine times, his wife Jasma Devi once and Kuldeep four times.

In Bihar, the RJD saw its margin of victory plummet in Mokama and it failed to win in party chairman Lalu Prasad’s home district of Gopalganj, which the BJP retained, albeit narrowly.

This was the first electoral test for the “Mahagathbandhan” (RJD-JDU-Cong) government led by Nitish Kumar, formed less than three months ago after the split of the JD(U) with the BJP.

RJD candidate Neelam Devi won in Mokama by over 16,000 votes. The bypoll was necessitated after her MLA husband Anant Kumar Singh was disqualified.

The BJP contested the constituency for the first time as the saffron party had repeatedly left the seat to its allies.

BJP’s Kusum Devi, the wife of MP Subhash Singh whose death necessitated the by-election in Gopalganj, garnered 70,032 votes, while RJD’s Mohan Gupta secured 68,243.

Asaduddin Owaisi’s AIMIM garnered over 12,000 votes, emerging as the biggest “spoiler” for the ruling alliance. Bihar Congress spokesperson Asit Tiwari accused Owaisi of helping the BJP win.

AIMIM had won five seats in the last Assembly polls and all but one of its deputies joined the RJD.

Bihar Deputy Chief Minister and RJD leader Tejashwi Yadav said the BJP’s shrinking margin of victory was a “success” for them and their alliance would win in the 2024 Lok Sabha polls.

BJP leader JP Nadda said, “Despite all the opposition forces coming together, the people have left their mark on the development-oriented leadership of Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi ji. It is clear from this that the faith of the people of Bihar is with the BJP”.

He said the victory at Gola Gokarannath in Uttar Pradesh and Adampur reflects public support for the BJP’s dual-powered governments.

BJP’s Aman Giri defeated his closest rival and Samajwadi party candidate by more than 34,000 votes in the UP seat which became vacant after the death of his father and party MP Arvind Giri on September 6.

With BSP and Congress staying on the sidelines, it was a direct fight between Aman Giri and Tiwari. The BJP campaign was led by Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, while SP leader Akhilesh Yadav did not campaign.

Yadav on Sunday accused the BJP government of using illegal means in the elections and said it defeated democracy in the assembly seat. By obtaining more than 90,000 votes, the SP candidate challenged the BJP, he claimed.

Gola Gokarannath is part of the Lok Sabha constituency of Union Minister of State for Home Affairs Ajay Mishra, Lakhimpur Kheri.

Adityanath praised the BJP workers. “This spectacular win is a symbol of the people’s unwavering faith in the public welfare policies of the dual-powered BJP government,” Adityanath said in a Hindi tweet.

Telanaga saw a fierce contest with TRS candidate (now renamed Bharat Rashtra Samithi) Kusukuntla Prabhakar Reddy beating his closest BJP rival Komatireddy Raj Gopal Reddy in Munugode by over 10,000 votes. Congress candidate Palvai Sravanthi was a distant third.

Komatireddy Raj Gopal Reddy had sought re-election on a BJP ticket after leaving Congress. “Thank you to the people of Munugodu for trusting the TRS party and the leadership of the Honorable CM KCR.” .

In Odisha’s Dhamnagar, BJP’s Suryabanshi Suraj beat the ruling BJD’s Abanti Das by a margin of 9,881 votes, an election commission official said.

The indirect vote was necessitated by the death of Surja’s father and BJP MP Bishnu Charan Sethi in September.

Along with retaining the seat, the saffron party ended the ruling BJD’s victory in partial polls since 2019 when it came to power for the fifth consecutive term in the state.

While BJD chairman and chief minister Naveen Patnaik said the result was “expected”, BJP leader and Union minister Dharmendra Pradhan said the result reflected the people’s confidence in the government. leadership of Prime Minister Modi.

“We have lost very few by-elections. I always respect the verdict of the people. MP Bishnu Sethi passed away recently and he was very popular. The BJP held the seat for several years. His son got the ticket. C It was expected that they would win,” the chief minister said.

Maharashtra saw its first electoral competition after the collapse of the Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) government led by Uddhav Thackeray in June following a revolt by a section of Shiv Sena MPs led by Eknath Shinde.

Thackeray said the win showed people support his Shiv Sena.

”This is only the beginning of a fight. The symbol (of the party) is important but people are also looking for the character. The poll results show that people support us,’ Thackeray told reporters at his residence on Sunday.

“Our party’s name and symbol have been frozen for this election, but those who wanted it are nowhere near the electoral ring,” Thackeray said in a veiled swipe at the faction led by the chief minister of the Maharashtra, Eknath Shinde.

(This story has not been edited by the Devdiscourse team and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Source link

Comments are closed.